Our Schools

I am proud to represent these schools in Board District 3


  • Academy for Enriched Sciences Magnet
  • Anatola ES
  • Andasol ES
  • Balboa ES G/HG/HA Mag
  • Bassett ES
  • Beckford Charter for Enriched Studies
  • Blythe ES
  • Burbank Blvd ES
  • Calabash Charter Academy
  • Calahan Community Charter
  • Canoga Park ES
  • Cantara ES
  • Capistrano Ave ES
  • Cardenas ES
  • Carpenter Comm Charter
  • Castlebay Lane Charter
  • Chandler ES
  • Chatsworth Park ES
  • Cohasset ES
  • Colfax ES
  • Columbus ES
  • Danube Ave ES
  • Darby Ave Charter
  • Dearborn Elementary Charter Academy
  • Dixie Canyon Community Charter
  • El Oro Way Charter for Enriched Studies
  • Enadia Way Technology Charter
  • Gault St ES
  • Germain Academy for Academic Achievement
  • Granada ES
  • Hamlin Charter Academy
  • Hart St ES
  • Haskell STEAM Magnet ES
  • Haynes Charter for Enriched Studies
  • Hazeltine ES
  • Justice St Academy Charter School
  • Kester Ave ES
  • Knollwood Preparatory Academy ES
  • Lemay ES
  • Limerick ES
  • Lockhurst Drive Charter
  • Lorne ES
  • Mayall Academy Arts & Technology Magnet
  • Melvin ES
  • Napa ES
  • Nevada ES
  • Parthenia ES
  • Pomelo Community Charter and Arts & Sciences Magnet ES
  • Riverside Dr Charter
  • Sherman Oaks Elementary Charter
  • Stagg ES
  • Sunny Brae ES
  • Superior ES
  • Sylvan Park ES
  • Topeka Charter
  • Tulsa ES
  • Valley View ES
  • Van Gogh Charter
  • Van Nuys ES
  • Vintage Magnet ES
  • Welby Way Charter ES
  • Winnetka ES
  • Woodlake Elementary Community Charter

  • Columbus MS
  • Frost MS
  • Hale CA
  • Henry MS
  • Holmes MS
  • Lawrence MS
  • Millikan PAM & STEM
  • Mulholland MS
  • Nobel CM
  • Northridge MS
  • Porter MS
  • Reed MS
  • Van Nuys MS

  • Canoga Park HS
  • Chatsworth Charter HS
  • Cleveland Charter HS
  • Kennedy HS
  • No. Hollywood HS
  • Northridge Academy HS
  • Daniel Pearl HS Magnet HS
  • Valley Academy Arts & Sciences
  • Van Nuys HS

Magnet programs offer self-contained classes and place emphasis on developing higher-level thinking skills in a demanding academic program for students who are entering grades 1–12. Interested parents may submit an original application or apply online at http://eChoices.lausd.net by the mid-November deadline. For information regarding the process of application, verification, and student selection, call the Office of Student Integration Services at (213) 241-4177 or visit the Magnet Programs website.

  • Lake Balboa College Prep Magnet
  • Porter Ranch Community School

Early Education Centers

  • Canoga Park EEC
  • Cleveland EEC
  • Lemay EEC
  • Northridge EEC
  • Sylvan Park EEC

  • Miller CTC
  • North Valley Occupational Center - Aviation
  • Rinaldi Adult School
  • Van Nuys Adult School

Community Day Schools (CDS) are small schools providing interim educational opportunities for K-12 students who have been expelled, are at high risk, or have been referred by probation, or a School Attendance Review Board. The goal of CDS is to provide a challenging academic curriculum, develop social skills, and return students back to traditional schools.

  • CDS Aggeler
  • CDS Elementary

Educational Options Schools are designed to address the needs of at-risk students by helping them acquire academic, social and occupational skills so that each student may contribute to and benefit from society.  There are several different types of Educational Options schools, each serving a different type of student. These are the ones located in Board District 3.

There are seven types of Educational Options Schools each serving a different type of student.

Continuation high schools are small campuses with low student-to-teacher ratios offering instruction to students between the ages of 16 and 18 who are deemed as risk of not completing their education. The goal of each student is to make up credit deficiencies and either be graduated from the continuation school or transferred back to traditional high school. Some continuation schools offer evening classes to serve high school students who are regularly employed 30 hours or more a week. The major emphases in the evening classes are occupational orientation and work experience while working towards graduation requirements.


  • Addams CS
  • Independence CS
  • Owensmouth CS
  • Stoney Point CS
  • Wooden CS


  • Earhart CS
  • Rogers CS

Opportunity Schools are small campuses serving students (in grades 7-12) who are habitually truant, have irregular attendance, and exhibit other at-risk behaviors. These schools offer specialized instruction, guidance and counseling, psychological services, and tutorial assistance to help students overcome barriers to learning.

  • William Tell Aggeler

Unsure if your school is in Scott Schmerelson’s district? Click here to verify your school board district.Use the link above to find out about the various types of schools in Board District 3. When you click on the link, you will be taken to a directory of schools. Enter text in the text box and/or select criteria in the pull-down menus (School Types, Local Districts, and Board Districts). You can select several values under each pull-down. To close a pull-down click on the Done button at the top left of the menu.

Want to determine which school is your neighborhood school? Click here for the Resident School Finder.

To find information about your neighborhood school’s academic performance, budget and website, click here.